ME/CFS Advocacy Week May 2017: 71 Meetings in Washington D.C.


Pictured above left to right, ME/CFS Advocate Naomi Edelson, Congressman Jim McGovern, SMCI Director of Advocacy and Public Relations, Emily Taylor

SMCI partnered with #MEAction for ME/CFS Advocacy week in May 2017. This monumental advocacy effort included actions for patients with every energy level and ability to join, from a social media post to a Washington, D.C. face-to-face with Congressional leaders. The goal of our efforts is to educate, empower, and deliver our message to Congress to take action on ME/CFS, and set the stage for 2018 advocacy…

52 ME/CFS advocates (composed ME/CFS patients and their loved ones) met with 72 members of congress and their representatives in Washington DC. Our efforts represented 56 different states, districts, and territories from across the country. Locally, over 25 district meetings took place (that we know of so far!) with more meeting reports coming in every day.

Check out the full list of face-to-face meetings in Washington DC below:

Pictured above from left to right, SMCI’s Chief Scientific Officer and Vice President for Research, Dr. Zaher Nahle, Congressman Ryan Costello, and ME/CFS Advocate Michelle Roy.
  • Congressman Charles Dent (R-PA-15)
  • Congressman David Price (D-NC-04)
  • Congressman Jim McGovern (D-MA-02)
  • Congressman Joe Courtney (D-CT-02)
  • Congressman Ryan Costello (R-PA-06)
  • Congressman Walter Jones (R-NC-03)
  • Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ)
  • Senator Dean Heller (R-NV)
  • Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)
  • Office of Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA-12)
  • Office of Congressman Adam Schiff (D-CA-28)
  • Office of Congressman Adam Smith (D-WA-09)
  • Office of Congressman Anthony Brown (D-MD-04)
  • Office of Congressman Barry Loudermilk (R-GA-11)
  • Office of Congressman Brian Higgins (D-NY-26)
  • Office of Congressman Don Beyer (D-VA-08)
  • Office of Congressman Dwight Evans (D-PA-02)
  • Office of Congressman Elijah Cummings (D-MD-07)
  • Office of Congressman Jamie Raskin (R-MD-08)
  • Office of Congressman John Delaney (D-MD-06)
  • Office of Congressman John Sarbanes (D-MD-03)
  • Office of Congressman Luis Gutierrez (D-IL-04)
  • Office of Congressman Mark Amodei (R-NV-02)
  • Office of Congressman Mark Pocan (D-WI-02)
  • Office of Congressman Mike Quigley (D-IL-05)
  • Office of Congressman Patrick Meehan (R-PA-07)
  • Office of Congressman Robert Pittenger (R-NC-09)
  • Office of Congressman Steve Scalise (R-LA-01)
  • Office of Congressman Ted Lieu (D-CA-33)
  • Office of Congressman Vern Buchanan (R-FL-16)
  • Office of Congresswoman Barbara Comstock (R-VA-10)
  • Office of Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ-12)
  • Office of Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC-At Large)
  • Office of Congresswoman Jenniffer González-Colón (R-PR-At Large)
  • Office of Congresswoman Karen Bass (D-CA-37)
  • Office of Congresswoman Katherine Clark (D-MA-05)
  • Office of Congresswoman Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE-At Large)
  • Office of Congresswoman Lois Frankel (D-FL-21)
  • Office of Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD)
  • Office of Senator Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
  • Office of Senator Bob Casey (D-PA)
  • Office of Senator Brian Schatz (D-HI)
  • Office of Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV)
  • Office of Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
  • Office of Senator Christopher Murphy (D-CT)
  • Office of Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY)
  • Office of Senator David Perdue (R-GA)
  • Office of Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
  • Office of Senator Edward Markey (D-MA)
  • Office of Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)
  • Office of Senator John Kennedy (R-LA)
  • Office of Senator Johnny Isakson (R-GA)
  • Office of Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)
  • Office of Senator Lindsay Graham (R-SC)
  • Office of Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
  • Office of Senator Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
  • Office of Senator Pat Toomey (R-PA)
  • Office of Senator Patty Murray (D-WA)
  • Office of Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)
  • Office of Senator Richard Burr (R-NC)
  • Office of Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL)
  • Office of Senator Ron Johnson (R-WI)
  • Office of Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
  • Office of Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)
  • Office of Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX)
  • Office of Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC)
  • Office of Senator Thomas Carper (D-DE)
  • Office of Senator Tim Kaine (D-VA)
  • Office of Senator Tim Scott (R-SC)
  • Office Senator Christopher Coons (D-DE)


Pictured left to right, ME/CFS Advocate Annette Whittemore, Senator Dean Heller (NV), SMCI Director of Advocacy and Public Relations, Emily Taylor