2016 IACFSME Award Winners

Governor Rudy Perpich Memorial Award
Lucinda Bateman, MD

Dr. Lucinda Bateman, an internist specializing in the treatment of ME/CFS and fibromyalgia, graduated from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. Dr. Bateman has served on the boards of the International Association of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (IACFS/ME) and the CFIDS Association of America. Since opening her Fatigue Consultation Clinic in 2000, Dr. Bateman has evaluated more than 1,000 patients.

Nelson Gantz Clinician Award
Rosamund Vallings, MB, BS

Dr. Rosamund Vallings has many decades’ experience in the field of ME/CFS, treating thousands of patients and believing in the validity of the disease long before that was broadly accepted. She was also awarded the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM).

Junior Investigator Award
Sharni Hardcastle, PhD

Sharni Hardcastle is a research assistant and practical demonstrator at the National Centre for Neuroimmunology and Emerging Diseases, Griffith Health Centre, School of Medical Science, Griffith University, Gold Coast, QLD, Australia.

Special Service Awards
David Tuller, PhD
Cort Johnson, MS

David Tuller’s rigorous investigation of the PACE trial uncovered its many flaws, validated patient concerns, and paved the way for the trial’s substantial loss of credibility and likely nullification.

ME/CFS pioneer Cort Johnson came down with chronic fatigue syndrome/fibromyalgia around 1980. Committed to creating a site devoted to understanding chronic fatigue syndrome research and treatment options, he opened Phoenix Rising circa 2004. By 2010, Phoenix Rising had become the most visited website devoted to ME/CFS. In December 2012, Cort left Phoenix Rising to form the new website Health Rising.

Surprise Award
Fred Friedberg, PhD

Fred Friedberg, PhD, is an associate professor at the Stony Brook University School of Medicine. His research interests are chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), and eye movement desensitization and reprocessing (EMDR).

Dr. Friedberg has authored seven books and over 40 scientific papers on CFS and fibromyalgia and is founder and editor of the peer review journal Fatigue: Biomedicine, Health and Behavior. He is president of the International Association for Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (IACFS/ME) and the lead author of the IACFS/ME Primer for Clinical Practitioners. ​