Introducing New 2012 Directors & Officers

Association News | 30. Dec, 2011 by | 4 Comments


The 2011 Board of Directors*

At the core of every nonprofit organization is the Board of Directors, responsible for defining mission, setting policy and stewarding human and financial resources. The Solve ME/CFS Initiative has benefited from the talents and volunteer leadership of 86 individuals who have served on the Board of Directors since the organization’s founding in 1987; this diversity in expertise and experience is unmatched in our community.

In 2012, the Association welcomes to its Board of Directors two new members: Elizabeth Garfield, J.D., and Christine Williams, M.Ed.Beth is a practicing labor attorney in Los Angeles whose interest in CFS stretches back to 1985 when she became ill while on vacation. Thanks to a treatment that provided tremendous relief, she was symptom-free for 22 years before a relapse earlier this year. She is enthusiastic about the organization’s focus on research. Meet Beth through her Catalyst profile.


Elizabeth Garfield, J.D.

Chris retired from service to the U.S. federal government after 30 years in health policy, first on Capitol Hill and then for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Chris was diagnosed with CFS in 2008 and she served on the federal CFS Advisory Committee (CFSAC), sharing her perspective as both a professional and as a person with CFS. She will serve as a special advisor to the Assistant Secretary of Health on CFS.  Meet Chris through her Catalyst profile and her recent testimony to the CFSAC.

Two members of the Board have served the full term allowed under the organization’s By-laws and retire at the end of 2011: Bruce Allshouse and Jennifer M. Spotila, J.D. Both joined the Board in 2005 and served in several leadership capacities. Jennie served as chairman of the Board in 2009 and 2010 and Bruce has been treasurer since 2008. Directors are limited to six consecutive years of service but are eligible to serve again after a one-year break. Meet Bruce through an article he wrote about our research program in 2008 and meet Jennie through her most recent CFSAC testimony.


Christine Williams, M.Ed.

Three other directors, Christoph Bausch, PhD, Stuart Drescher, PhD, and Brian Smith, had personal and professional obligations that precluded their continued service at this time. We will miss the many important contributions to the organization each of these individuals have made during their terms. Learn more about our 2011 directors…

In 2012, the Board of Directors will be led by Amy Squires (chairman), Vicki Boies, PsyD (vice chairman), Amy Divine (secretary) and Kevin Frick, MBA (treasurer). All of our directors are contributors to the Catalyst Fund; two of them are profiled – meet Amy S. and Amy D.

As a mature organization with respected leaders, a visionary board of directors, a seasoned professional staff, an esteemed Scientific Advisory Board and a broad base of support within the CFS community, the Solve ME/CFS Initiative has the strength of experience and capacity to accelerate the pace of progress and generate meaningful discoveries. If you are interested in learning more about board service, please send a statement of interest to

(2011 directors pictured above, left to right: Stuart Drescher, PhD; Patrick Venetucci; Bruce Allshouse; Amy Divine; Kim McCleary; Jennifer Spotila, J.D.; Diane Bean; Kevin Frick, MBA; Vicki Boies, Psy.D.; Amy Squires; Adam Lesser; Brian Smith; Christoph Bausch, Ph.D.; Robert Raidt)

December 30, 2011